Order : Xenarthra

  anteater Including anteaters, armadillos and sloths. They were formerly classified as the order Edentata (meaning toothless) and put in the same order as the aardvark and pangolins, until they discovered that the order was polyphyletic, meaning that unrelated species were seen as a group and was invalid. Now, anteaters, armadillos and sloths are in the order called Xenarthra which means "strange joints". It was named this way because they all have unique vertebral joint structure unlike any other mammal.

The smallest member of the Xenarthra is the Silky anteater, the largest is the Giant anteater.

Image: photographer Malene Thyssen, Licensed under Attribution ShareAlike 2.5

Animals in the order Xenarthra

Screaming hairy armadillo
Large hairy armadillo
Pink fairy armadillo
Nine-banded armadillo
Six-banded armadillo
Giant armadillo
Brazilian three-banded armadillo

Custom Search
Play animal guess

Contact Us | ©2011 TheWebsiteOfEverything.com | Privacy information | Edentates